Brooker Cup – Golf Tournament

The 10th annual Brooker Cup,  a golf battle between BC and Alberta is scheduled for September 20-21 at the Rivershore Golf Club in Kamloops, BC.  The BC team is made up of golfers: Dale Proctor, Paul Landry, Mike Parkes, Sean Ramsey, Kevin Sampson, Jim Cranswick, Wayne Poirier, Zeb Twarog with alternate Craig Loehr.

BC has won seven times but the last two years Alberta has been victorious. Good luck to our golfers!


The 1st Ryder Cup Challenge (Alberta vs BC) started May 16 1998 in Golden, BC.  The name of the Ryder Cup was chosen to match the same trophy in golf. Robert Cundy(AB) proposed the idea of an interprovincial golf competition and twelve players from BC faced off against twelve players from Alberta over 36 holes.  The purpose was to promote golf competition, friendship, enjoyment, skills development and sportsmanship within the game of golf.

2nd Ryder Cup was held at the Dunes, Kamloops BC in May 1999

3rd Ryder Cup was held in Fairmont, BC – July 2000

4th Ryder cup was held in Prince George, BC – July 2001

The name Ryder Cup was changed to Brooker cup in memory of Sid Brooker of Vancouver.  Sid was well respected in Deaf communities and was a long time avid golfer.

5th Brooker Cup was held near Edmonton – July 2002 – decided to change every 2nd year.

6th Brooker cup in Pitts Meadows, BC – June 2004

7th Brooker cup in Nisku, AB – July 2006 (this changed from 12 golfers to 8 golfers)

For more information about the Booker Cup or golf please contact the BCDSF office at

Scroll to Top